Coconut Chicken

Look at me being all healthy.

But seriously, this is probably the healthiest thing I’ve eaten in weeks.

To say I love coconut shrimp is the perfect definition of an understatement. I could live on it. And who doesn’t love chicken? Oh, why not cross over the coconut shrimp idea to chicken? Okay. I will. And I did. And it is magnificent. And not only is it delicious, it is also paleo, primal, caveman, gluten free, clean eating, voodoo, witch doctor approved! My eyebrow is already growing together as one…

This is an easy weeknight dinner that I assure you, everyone will approve of. And your gut will thank you for not feeding it complete crap.

I’m back bitches.

You will need:
6 thawed chicken tenderloins (or equivalent to a pound)
2 eggs
1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk
1/2 cup of almond flour
1 cup of unsweetened coconut
Coconut (or your favorite) cooking spray

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

Gather two bowls. Put your sprayed baking sheet next to them. In one bowl, add your eggs and almond milk. Whisk well. In the other bowl, combine the almond flour and coconut, mix it up well.

One tenderloin at a time, dip it in the egg wash. Let it drip off a few times. Lay chicken tender in the dry mix. Flip it over a few times to get it nice and coated. Lay tender on greased baking sheet. Repeat until all tenders are ready to go!

Bake for about 15 minutes. (Ours took exactly 15.)

Turn broiler on low and let them sit under it for about 2 minutes. Watch carefully so they don’t burn.

IMG_0086

Aren’t they beautiful? My love for chicken tenders is real and deep. I’m that kid who got chicken fingers at Mexican and Japanese restaurants until my buds matured. You could say I’m a chicken finger connoisseur. While trying to lose weight, it’s kind of impossible to eat traditional tenders and see results. So, I am beside myself happy at how delicious and crispy these babies are. Cheat clean? Isn’t that a thing? Oh yes. I’m obsessed with ketchup but please, get creative with your dipping sauce. I’m boring. Enjoy!

IMG_0085

Leave a comment