Prosciutto Wrapped Jalapeño Poppers

Jeeeeeeeez.

This is the kind of snackatizer that makes me love watching my carbs. And yes, I make up words now. Call me Webster.

This more than makes up for the atrocious things people called low carb muffins I attempted to make twice last night. Can’t win em all.

The theme this week in my life is clearly HEAT. We finally had to turn our heat on, the election here is HEATED and everything on the menu this week is spicy as hell. This was all accidental. But I like it hot. Don’t we all? It’s a week into cold weather here and I’m already like, can we not? Can we just pause on the 60-70 degree weather for forever?

This will keep you warm. I assure you. I got this brilliant idea from the lovely and so hilarious Bev from Bev Cooks. I have made them with just plain old cream cheese and bacon but she put a twist on them that no one should ignore.

I’m as happy as a pig in a peach orchard that I made these babies. Sweet heat is all the yums.

You will need:
-8 jalapeños
-1 small block of cream cheese
-2 tablespoons of your favorite barbecue sauce
-8 slices of prosciutto

Pre-heat (there’s that heat again) the oven to 400 degrees.

Slice the jalapeños in half long ways. Gut them. Gut them good. Show no mercy. They’re already going to be spicy so trust me you do not want the guts and seeds.

IMG_5612.JPG

Mix one block of softened cream cheese with 2 tablespoons of any barbecue sauce. Whip it. Into shape. Someone stop me, please.

Take a butter knife and scoop the mixture into the middle of each jalapeño piece. Or do it Bev’s really cool way that I used and put the mix in a baggy. Cut a little corner of the baggy off and squeeze for less mess. And more pretty.

Slice the prosciutto long ways into one inch slices. Use one long piece to wrap each jalapeño piece. It should be about the length of bacon. Maybe a little shorter.

The prosciutto sticks well to the surface of the jalapeño so I promise it’s easy!

IMG_5613.JPG

Place your little heat babies on a non stick baking sheet. Put them in the oven for 10 minutes. Then turn the pan around in the oven to ensure they’re cooked evenly. Put them back in for another 10 minutes.

BAM. Snackatizers for everyone.

IMG_5614.JPG

We’ll be eating on these all week when we want something to munch on instead of reaching for carb loaded snacks.

“Come on! Make it. Make it now. What are you waiting for!?” -Arnold Schwarzenegger

IMG_5615.JPG

Xo

4 thoughts on “Prosciutto Wrapped Jalapeño Poppers

  1. I made paleo blueberry muffins before. I used almond flour and agave.. they definitely were not as good as old fashioned muffins but they were edible at least. This low carb recipe looks awesome though!

Leave a Reply

