One Skillet Italian Chicken

Did I ever tell you all that when I was younger, I wished so badly I was italian? Pasta was all I was good at cooking, I have blackish hair, I loved the accents and I thought the country was beautiful. I had to be part italian, right? No. Not at all. Turns out I’m Irish and German. BOORRRRRINGGG. Just kidding. Didn’t everyone go through an “I wish I was italian” phase? Before the Jersey Shore? No? Great, I’m a weirdo.

IMG_5288.JPG

I used to ONLY be able to cook pasta dishes. I could make ANYTHING into pasta form. And make it delicious. But there’s so much more to italian cooking. And there’s way healthier options! Especially for someone trying to lose weight. Womp womp. BUT WAIT. This doesn’t taste healthy. Or boring. Or womp womp. No no. Quite the opposite! The flavors in this dish pop like WHOA. It’s hearty, rich and loaded with good for you stuff. It’s perfect for two people. It’s perfect for dinner. It’s perfect for packed lunches the next day. It’s perfect if you want to try and convince people you are Italian. I won’t tell.

You will need:
-2 large chicken breasts (or 3 small) cut into strips
-1 jar of sundried tomatoes
-1 can of roasted tomatoes
-1 can of artichoke hearts
-1 zucchini squash, cut into rounds
-1/2 cup of chopped yellow onion
-3 garlic cloves
-1 tablespoon of italian seasoning
-2 tablespoons of olive oil
-2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar

IMG_5289.JPG

In an oven safe skillet (we used a cast iron skillet), put in one tablespoon of olive oil over medium/high heat. Add chicken strips. Brown on one side for 7-8 minutes. Flip over and cook for another 5-6 minutes.

Scoop out the chicken and set aside on a plate.

Add in onion, the chopped zucchini and the garlic. Add your last tablespoon of olive oil. Cook until soft, about 5-8 minutes. Add in both tomatoes and artichoke hearts. Drain all of them before putting into the skillet. Cook for another 3-5 minutes.

Add the chicken back in. At this time, stir in your two tablespoons of balsamic vinegar! Put skillet in the oven on 425 for 5-7 minutes, until fragrant as hell and bubbly. Sprinkle the italian seasoning on top! Voila!

IMG_5287.JPG

Does your house smell like a cottage on a hill overlooking a vineyard and olive oil presses? Mine sure did.

I got mike’s seal of approval. And my own, of course. This is a meal fit for italian royalty. Do yourself a favor and make this now. One skillet gourmet italian? I mean, what more could you want? And low carb/gluten free/loaded with veggies and good for you fat to boot.

IMG_5286.JPG

Enjoy guys!

Xo

2 thoughts on “One Skillet Italian Chicken

  1. I also went through a wish I was Italian phase 🙂 I had a great plan to marry an Italian and his mother would teach me to make pasta.. Ah young dreams haha The chicken looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

