Copycat Alice Springs Chicken

When I was in high school, I lost 50 pounds by eating super strict low carb and playing sports. And thanks to my loving family who took me to Outback Steakhouse once a week to feel indulgent while on this crappy ass diet. Alice Springs Chicken became one of my major tools for success. It will forever have a special place in my fat loving heart.

If I could eat at Outback every night, life would be grand. But there are many pitfalls to that plan. One includes the temptation of their mystery brown bread, a second being their delicious, crispy croutons and lastly, well, that would cost a fortune.

I figured there was no way re-creating this dish would be hard. And boy was I right!! This tasted JUST as good. And I didn’t have any yummy bread sitting on the table singing me love songs, begging me to just listen to my heart and eat it.

While I definitely do not do super strict low carb, I definitely don’t eat any past 5pm. And this, my friends, was the perfect dinner for us.

Wanna Be Alice Springs Chicken

You will need:
-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
-8 slices of bacon of your choice (you can use turkey, but being as I eat lower carb, I allow fat in my “diet”)
-2 cups of raw button mushrooms
-4 large slices of medium cheddar cheese (use fresh, organic cheese. Trust me.)
-low sugar honey mustard either homemade or store bought
-salt and pepper

Serves 4 (or three, if you have a really hungry boyfriend.)

IMG_5023.JPG

This was the honey mustard in our local grocery store that had the least amount of sugar! And it was damn tasty.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Take a glass baking dish and spray lightly with cooking spray.

Lay completely thawed chicken breasts down in the baking dish.

Massage some salt and pepper into the chicken.

I then poured the two cups of raw mushrooms all over the top of the chicken and around the pan. You can be more precise and “fancy” if that’s how you roll.

Splash some honey mustard onto the chicken breasts. As much as you prefer. But remember, you will be dipping the chicken in the mustard as well when you’re eating it so you don’t need a lot!

Top each breast with two slices of bacon. Then add a large slice of cheddar cheese on top to finish off the chicken!

IMG_5024.JPG

At this point in the game, I imagined how beautiful this was going to be when it was finished. Because cheesy melty anything is a work of art to me. Am I crazy?

Bake in the oven for about 30-40 minutes, depending on how thick of a cut your chicken is. Ours took about 30-32 minutes!

IMG_5025.JPG

Plate em and eat em. Simple as that! Dip it in honey mustard or pour more on top and it will truly remind you of being at Outback!

Serve with your favorite roasted green veggie for a delicious, balanced and low carb meal! Guys. Seriously trust me on this one. Omg I’m so full and I’m feeling good about it. DELICIOUS.

IMG_5026.JPG

And that concludes day one of Healthy Eating until the Holidays! Which is basically my own version of primal/paleo with cheese. Because people who don’t eat cheese are crazy. Seriously. Come back next week and see if I’ve turned into a cave woman. I’m currently monitoring my brow line. So far no change.

Xo

2 thoughts on “Copycat Alice Springs Chicken

  1. I will be so glad to get in our new house with my Italian and start cooking dinners again!! I can not wait to try your recipes!! You and I pretty much love all the same foods…or should that read “we pretty much love all food” so there is not one thing you have shared that I do not like!!!!

    • Oh that’s wonderful! I love meeting new people who share my love of food. Im trying to work on more and more recipes! I love posting them and figuring out new ways to make things! Italian is sooooo significant to me. We’re huge italian food fans and I ate almost all italian food when I went to Europe and it changed my life! Welcome! Thanks for stopping in!

Leave a Reply

