Long weekend and healthy broccoli salad!

Where to begin.

We bought groceries for the entire week last week and didn’t eat any of them. I’m terrible. I just never felt like cooking and there was something going on every night. No excuse. And no, I didn’t eat healthy. Well, my lunches were all healthy. But after 5pm, it was all down hill. I still had vacation brain.

IMG_4571.JPG

IMG_4572.JPG

IMG_4570.JPG

That salad is probably the healthiest thing I’ve had for dinner all week. And that salad has chicken tenders and a croissant with it. So yeah. And do you SEE the plethora of snacks we have at work? Thank goodness I’m not a snacker. Or I’d be ruined. But the temptation is there.

My favorite meal this week was Brad and Jess’s chicken tacos. Brad grilled the chicken and the corn tortillas and Jess made the most DELICIOUS pineapple salsa and lime cilantro rice. Oh my goodness. So good. And we got to night swim!

I made broccoli salad to eat on last week. It was delicious. I know some people aren’t a fan of raw broccoli. I LOVE it. And I promise you, this recipe is delicious! Great way to get your raw veggies in for the day!

IMG_4498.JPG

You’ll need:
-One container of broccoli from your market’s produce area.
-1 cup reduced fat mayo (we used trader joe’s, olive oil mayo is great too!)
-1tablespoon apple cider vinegar
-3 packets of truvia (stevia)
-1 half of a cup of dried cranberries
-1 half of a cup of sunflower seeds

Mix the mayo, apple cider vinegar and stevia in one bowl.

In a large bowl, mix the broccoli, cranberries and sunflower seeds.

Stir the mayo mix into the broccoli mix, coating it all well.

I don’t recommend eating it right away. The flavors need to sit and hang out together for awhile before it will knock your socks off.

I let mine sit over night and then packed it in small tupperware containers to take for work! Yum!

THIS WEEK’S MENU:
Monday: Salmon with asparagus
Tuesday: Jerk chicken thighs with Parmesan roasted zucchini
Wednesday: Bourbon Burgers with sweet potatoes
Thursday: Blackened fish tacos

Lunch will be spaghetti squash with meatball bake and low carb wraps!

I’m trying something drastic this week.

By the time we get off of work, drive in terrible traffic, get home, let the dog out, cook etc., I do NOT feel like working out. So I’m going to wake up an hour earlier and do Bob Harper’s 30 minute cardio DVD, shower and go to work. I feel like if I get a hard workout in in the morning, not only will it wake me up through out the day, but I won’t feel bad about not working out at night and walking Bo a little will be enough! So wish me luck!

IMG_4464.JPG

I got these bad boys to help motivate me. My 2 year old Nike’s were feeling a little hard and uncomfortable lately. I love both of these. I’m so excited to start using them! Aside from walking from the car to the store. Hehe

Xo

5 thoughts on “Long weekend and healthy broccoli salad!

Leave a Reply

