Hearty Kale and Sausage Bake

This is the kind of meal that if you had told me 5 years ago, I would salivate over it, I’d laugh in your face.

This is the kind of meal that if you had told me 5 years ago, I would make myself, I’d tell ya when pigs fly.

This is the kind of meal that I’m so proud to say I mastered and will now crave for many more nights to come.

I had a printed recipe for something similar from food network, but this is roughly based on pinchofyum.com ‘s recipe. My wordpress is being funky and not letting me link, or I’d send you there. I made a few changes and additions. I wanted to make it as light as possible without skimping on cheese. This thing did not taste light in the least. But it was. And it was perfect.

20140609-220603-79563669.jpg

Things you will need:

2 teaspoons olive oil
2 medium sweet potatoes, cubed (3-4 cups)
12 ounces chicken sausage, cut into small rounds (we used trader Joe’s apple, 4 large sausages)
2 cups low sodium chicken broth
¾ cup low fat milk
¼ cup whole wheat flour
¾ cup shredded Gruyere/Swiss mix cheese
2 cups finely chopped kale
1 teaspoon of garlic powder

These are the exact items I used, and if you have access to them, I highly recommend it. But any variation would be wonderful.

20140609-220739-79659612.jpg

In a large skillet with the olive oil on medium-high heat, brown and cook down the sausage and sweet potatoes. It took me about 10-15 minutes. Sprinkle generously with garlic powder.

20140609-220815-79695229.jpg

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a small pot on medium-high heat, pour in 2 cups of chicken broth and half cup of low fat milk. Whisk and bring to a boil. Once it is at a boil, turn down to simmer. Add in whole wheat flour slowly, whisking as you do. After all of the flour is mixed in well, add the cheese slowly repeating the whisking process. Whisk until it has become a thick, paste, cheesy consistency.

Add chopped kale into the skillet with sweet potatoes and sausage and let it cook down, about 2-3 minutes. Then transfer sweet potatoes, sausage and kale into your favorite glass baking dish. Slowly pour in your cheese mixture. Cover entirely.

Sprinkle on a very small handful of shredded cheese and bake for 10-12 minutes until bubbly and browned.

You guys.

20140609-220910-79750324.jpg

20140609-220932-79772626.jpg

This is definitely a dish that makes you feel like a fancy chef. And because I am so far from it, I love that feeling.

20140609-221021-79821970.jpg

This makes about 4 good servings. I had one. Trying to keep my servings in check/not lick the bowl.

The flavors in this dish mix together so unbelievably well. A food marriage unlike any other. Promise me you’ll go get the goods and make this asap!

20140609-221221-79941035.jpg

The best part? Leftovers. It’s so good, that Mike kept popping open the Tupperware bowl and grabbing little bites. I had to force him to save a serving for lunch tomorrow. I’ll never put anything on here if Mike doesn’t like it. He’s the best judge of yums. But let’s be real, if you’re here, you and I know what’s up on the food yums. And this, my friends, is all of the cheesy awesomeness you see in the pictures.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

