Quiche Biche!

Hooray for my first recipe post. I will say, pretty proud of this one. I converted my breakfast hating boyfriend into wanting this meal again! AND AGAIN. We both have leftovers for lunch!

I’m going to try really hard to break the recipe down for you. I’m one of those non-measurer, eyeball, salt flying in the air types.

Ingredients:

1 Pillsbury Refrigerated Roll out Pie Crust

1/2 Pound Ground Sausage of your choice. I used Tennessee Pride Sage.

6 Eggs

2/3 Cup heavy whipping cream

1 Cup Shredded Cheddar

1/2 Cup Shredded Swiss

1 1/2 Cup fresh spinach

1 1/2 Cup onion and mushroom mixed (I used frozen chopped onion to save time)

Salt/Pepper

Image

Pre-heat your oven to 350.

Start by greasing your pie dish. Roll out your crust into pie dish. Press firmly against the ends so that all of the pie crust is touching the pan.

In a skillet, brown the ground sausage. Add in or in a separate skillet, cook down the onion and mushrooms until soft. Drain.

Line the pie crust with fresh spinach.

Top spinach with sausage, onion and mushroom mixture.

Image

In a mixing bowl, combine 6 eggs, 1/2 cup of swiss cheese, 1/2 cup of cheddar, 2/3 cup of whipping cream, salt and pepper.

Pour WELL BEATEN egg mixture over pie.

Top pie with 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese.

Bake for 45 minutes to an hour. Mine took about 50 minutes to be brown and beautiful.

Image

Since I am watching my figure, but eat what I want, I chose to cut a tiny slice for myself. Mike had a giant slice. He’s a growing boy.

Image

The only thing I would do differently is pre-prepare the sausage, onion and mushroom mixture. It would make things go a lot faster. And considering last night I was STARVING at 5:30 and we didn’t eat until 7:30, fast will always be good!

Mike decided he was going to start calling me snickers. Because “I’m not me when I’m hungry.” The force is strong in me. The force being the cravings for delicious food. When I want it, I need it.

50 minutes is a long time to watch something bake when you’re starving, so turn on a show and it’ll go by faster. We watched The Following season finale. Don’t get me started.

Happy Wednesday!

 

xo

 

Leave a Reply

